Join the POSCON Public Discord Server! ×

Newbie Questions

KSI

Hi all,

I'm a newbie to POSCON. But I have a few years of flight sim experience & was a real-life ATC once upon a time.

I have a list of questions that I thought might easily be addressed by the folks here, rather than a support ticket.

1) I launch X-Plane 11 with a shortcut because I want to enable vulkan & reshade. The POSCON launcher doesn't seem to support this. Is this correct?

2) Due to the above, when I try login in X-Plane, I see "Connection failed: You have been disconnected from POSCON, Reason: Please ensure POSCON Launcher is running" error. Is this because X-Plane was not launched by Launcher?

3) I close down all web browsers when I'm in X-Plane. But it looks like POSCON needs to start a web browser. Is this correct?

4) Is there any other way to file a flight plan easily other than by Simbrief? Like reading from an .FPL file or some other file?

5) The website seems incredibly slow. Am I the only one who experiences this?

6) My X-Plane is the Steam version. Does POSCON have issues/problems with Steam?

Thanks in advance,

Regards,

KSI

Hey there and welcome to Poscon!

A newbie question (or more like a foolish one) is one that's never asked!
I'm able to answer some of those:

1) You launch the actual pilot client through the Plugin menu within X-Plane so that statement is incorrect.
2) The POSCON Launcher is a different tool. You have to download it through hq.poscon.net -> Bottom left on 'More Menu' -> 'Launcher Download'. That one needs to run - but can be in the background.
3) You need the browser once when you start the Launcher to log in. Then once again to file flight plans and possibly see other traffic/ATC on the live map which you can also do on phone, tablets etc. (if I am not mistaken that is)
4) Not that I know of so far but one of the developers or the big boss himself will have to reply to that.
5) The site works normal on my end